Tuesday, November 26, 2013

What to watch for in 2013 and 2014: Arizona

So, for my election center tab, I'm going to start a series of posts to look at all of the 50 states for their 2014 elections.  I may throw in Washington, DC, too. I can't decide.  I'll update them throughout the year, ultimately offering projections and predictions.  If I get the time, I'd like to have a better know a politician section for all of them, or at least the majority of them.  But I doubt I'll get the time.  But you can check back throughout the year as I update them and the state by state posts.

Declared candidates:
Fred DuVal, Former President of the Arizona Board of Regents: Democratic
Ron Cavanaugh, Marine Corps Veteran: Democratic
Ken Bennett, Arizona Secretary of State: Republican
Andrew Thomas, former Maricopa County Attorney: Republican
Al Melvin, State Senator Arizona District 11: Republican
Doug Ducey, Arizona Treasurer: Republican
Christine Jones, former executive: Republican
John Molina, former CEO of Phoenix Medical Indian Center: Republican

Potential candidates:
Scott Smith, Mayor of Mesa: Republican
Jan Brewer (incumbent), thinking about legal challenge to challenge the term limit law: Republican

Attorney General
Declared candidates:
Felecia Rotellini, 2010 candidate for Attorney General and Former State Banking Superintendent: Democratic

Potential candidates:
Tom Home (incumbent): Republican
Mark Brnovich, former Director of Arizona Department of Gaming: Republican

Secretary of State
Declared candidates:
Will Cardon, Investment Fund Manager, 2012 U.S. Senate candidate: Republican
Michele Reagan, State Senator: Republican
Justin Pierce, State Representative: Republican

Potential candidates:
Jeff DeWit, Businessman and activist: Republican
Martin Sepulveda, Former Chandler City Councilman: Republican
Hugh Hallman, Former Mayor of Tempe: Republican

Ballot measures
SCR 1016: Passage of the ballot measure would create a mechanism by which the use of state personnel and financial resources are guaranteed to be used with purposes that are congruent with the Constitution

Arizona Election Law Referendum: Passage of the ballot measure would require all candidates running for office to collect the same amount of signatures to get their names on the ballot, make the picking up of another person's early ballot illegal, and set stricter qualifications for those wanting to circulate initiative, referendum, and recall petitions.

U.S. House of Representatives: 

1st Congressional District:
Declared candidates:
Ann Kirkpatrick (incumbent): Democratic
Adam Kwasman, State Representative: Republican
Gary Keihne, Businessman: Republican
Andy Tobin, State Representative: Republican

2nd Congressional District:
Ron Barber (incumbent): Democratic
Martha McSally, 2012 candidate: Republican

3rd Congressional District:
Raul Grijalva (incumbent): Democratic
Gabriela Saucedo Mercer, 2012 Candidate: Republican

4th Congressional District:
Paul Gosar (incumbent): Republican

5th Congressional District:
Matt Salmon (incumbent): Republican

6th Congressional District:
David Schweikert (incumbent): Republican

7th Congressional District:
Ed Pastor (incumbent): Democratic

8th Congressional District:
Trent Franks (incumbent): Republican

9th Congressional District:
Kyrsten Sinema (incumbent): Democratic
Wendy Rogers, businesswoman, veteran, and 2012 Republican primary challenger: Republican
Andrew Walter, Former Quarterback: Republican

No comments:

Post a Comment