Saturday, November 23, 2013

What to watch for in 2013 and 2014: Alabama

So, for my election center tab, I'm going to start a series of posts to look at all of the 50 states for their 2014 elections.  I may throw in Washington, DC, too. I can't decide.  I'll update them throughout the year, ultimately offering projections and predictions.  If I get the time, I'd like to have a better know a politician section for all of them, or at least the majority of them.  But I doubt I'll get the time.  But you can check back throughout the year as I update them and the state by state posts.

Declared candidates:
Robert J. Bentley (incumbent): Republican

Stacy Lee George, former Morgan County Commissioner: Republican

Potential candidates:
Billy Beasley, State Senator: Democratic

Regina Benjamin, former Surgeon General of the United States: Democratic

Sue Bell Cobb, former Chief Justice of the Alabama Supreme Court: Democratic

Craig Ford, Minority Leader of the Alabama House of Representatives: Democratic

John Rogers, State Representative: Democratic

Lieutenant Governor
Declared candidates:
Kay Ivey (incumbent): Republican

Stan Cooke, pastor: Republican

Scott Ninesling: Fire chief, Emergency Response Supervisor-Angola: Democratic

Attorney General
Declared candidates:
Luther Strange (incumbent): Republican

Secretary of State
Declared candidates:
Reese McKinney, Former probate judge of Montgomery County: Republican

John Merrill, State House of Representative, District 62: Republican

Jim Perdue, Crenshaw County Probate Judge: Republican

U.S. Senate
Declared candidates:
Jeff Sessions, Current U.S. Senator from Alabama: Republican

Ballot measures
American and Alabama laws for Alabama courts: Passage of this ballot measure would prohibit the state from recognizing foreign or any laws that violate the state's public policy or rights of the state or its citizens

U.S. Congress

1st Congressional District: Special election held: December 17, 2013
Bradley Byrne, former State Senator: Republican

Burton LeFlore, realtor: Democratic

Bradley Byrne (R): 62%
Burton LeFlore (D): 30%
Other: 8%

2nd Congressional District: 
Declared candidates:
Martha Roby (incumbent): Republican

3rd Congressional District:
Declared candidates:
Mike Rogers (incumbent): Republican

4th Congressional District:
Declared candidates:
Robert Aderholt (incumbent): Republican
Phil Norris, nuclear contractor: Republican

5th Congressional District:
Declared candidates:
Mo Brooks (incumbent): Republican
Jerry Hill, former Athens City Councilman: Republican
Parker Griffith, former Congressman and State Senator: Independent

6th Congressional District:
Declared candidates:
Chad Mathis, Surgeon and TEA Party Activist: Republican
Paul DeMarco, State Representative: Republican

7th Congressional District:
Declared candidates:
Terri Sewell (incumbent): Democratic
Stanley Mack, nursing student and veteran: Republican

No comments:

Post a Comment